FHSD Board of Education Wins Governance Team Award

Posted on 05/29/2020
FHSD Board of Education

The FHSD Board of Education has been honored with the Missouri School Boards’ Association 2020 Governance Team Award. This recognition is based on the outstanding commitment of the Board members to ongoing professional development, regional and statewide leadership, and active participation in legislative advocacy for public schools.

“I am so proud to work with such a dedicated team,” said Superintendent Dr. Mary Hendricks-Harris. “They are leaders, advocates, and learners. Francis Howell is a better school district because of each of them and their commitment.”

The members of the FHSD Board of Education are President Rene Cope, Vice-President Chad Lange, Treasurer Patrick Lane, and Directors Mike Hoehn, Mary Lange, Janet Stiglich, and Michelle Walker. School boards and superintendents that receive this award have demonstrated the value of ongoing learning for continuous improvement. 

Recipients of the award must have met the following essential criteria:

  • The district is accredited.
  • All seven school board members obtained Essential CBM certification from MSBA (or were grandfathered from the requirement).
  • At least two board members attained the Advanced Board Member certification from MSBA.
  • At least one board member attained the Master Board Member certification from MSBA.
  • A quorum of the board and superintendent attended MSBA’s 2019 Annual Conference.
  • At least three board members and the superintendent (or other district administrator) discussed a 2020 MSBA Spring Regional Meeting program.
  • A district representative attended MSBA’s 2020 Legislative Forum.
  • A board representative participated in MSBA’s 2019 Delegate Assembly.

Due to the coronavirus restrictions, the plaques for the 2020 Governance Team Award will be formally presented at MSBA’s Annual Conference in Cooperation with MASA on Sept. 25-27 in Kansas City. The Missouri School Boards’ Association salutes the FHSD Board of Education and Superintendent Dr. Mary Hendricks-Harris for their commitment to board improvement and leadership. 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.