Student Transfers

On June 11, 2013, the Missouri Supreme Court handed down its decision in the Breitenfeld v. School District of Clayton case. The verdict gave students in an unaccredited school district a statutory right to attend a school in an accredited district in the same or an adjoining county, including St. Charles County. There were two unaccredited school districts in the greater St. Louis area at the time of this ruling - Normandy and Riverview Gardens - both of which are in St. Louis County. Under the law, the unaccredited school districts had to choose at least one district to which they would provide transportation for resident students wishing to attend school in an accredited district. 

Normandy School District selected the Francis Howell School District (FHSD) as the district to which they would provide student transportation. Initially, 475 transfer students elected to attend FHSD; of that number, 450 students actually started the school year in FHSD. Approximately 185 students are slated to attend FHSD schools for the 2017-18 school year.

If there are any questions about the student transfers, please contact FHSD at   

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.